Easy Peasy Ravioli

 

Spring inspired ravioli

Spring inspired ravioli

Wonton wrappers, wow!  I have always wanted to make my own raviolis, but the thought of crafting fresh pasta to the perfect pouch-like consistency was intimidating.  While perusing my daily round of food and design blogs, I stumbled upon this recipe for Minty Pea and Arugula raviolis on The Kitchn.  Since I love arugula (this blog could have been Arugula and Whales!), my interest was piqued.

I made a few adaptations to the original recipe.  As an abundance of fresh local produce is lacking in my neck of the sagebrush, I could not find the fresh mint for the recipe, so I supplemented with lemon juice and dried basil.  Amazingly, we do occasionally have arugula in our store and I lucked out getting a bag in the close-out  produce bin for 99 cents.  Also, I used frozen peas.

The assembly line

The assembly line

This recipe was super simple, light and very easy to create for a weeknight dinner.  Wonton wrappers are amazing and I love knowing about this shortcut to ravioli making.  Mid dinner, I was already plotting my next rounds of raviolis:  homemade ricotta and spinach arugula pesto, artichoke heart and red pepper pesto, spiced ground lamb, butternut squash, and of course, mushroom.  Although I am an avid creator, I am always grateful for reasonable shortcuts.   I cannot wait to expand my ravioli repertoire!

2 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Ravioli

  1. Jennifer,
    This ravioli looks amazing! Wonton wrappers are a great idea, and I definitely want to make this for my family. Thank you! 🙂

    Q. Could this be served with a sauce or glaze; if so, what would you recommend? Also, what sides would go best with this recipe?

    -cat

    • Carrie,

      These are so simple and I bet the kiddos would have fun putting them together as well. I tried two different toppings: simple, browned butter and then just a drizzle of walnut oil. The other half would have liked more sauce, so next time I’ll make them Italian restaurant style! Check out the original recipe here. Let me know how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

