Hokey Pokey. Times Two.

Completed

That’s what it’s all about!

I have a very dear friend that became a mother last year — of twin girls.  In thinking about what I would like to make them, I debated between the adorable kid-friendly fabrics available (hello, sock monkeys!) and something that was bright and would not be outgrown.  I decided on the latter mostly because my former local shop had a fantastic fabric kit full of color and texture available that I could modify into 2 similar yet different quilts.  Perfect for twin girls!

I will be honest, this Hokey Pokey pattern was not my favorite during the piecing stages.  There was a lot of keeping pieces straight between left and right and this is where I learned the value of using chalk to mark my pieces.  However, beyond getting my rights and my lefts confused which, again with the honesty, happens not just with quilting, this pattern did become quite cool once intact.

Stitch in the Ditch Quilting.

Stitch-in-the-ditch quilting.

These two quilts not only hold a place in my heart because of who they belong to, but also because they are my first quilts that I quilted (free-motion) on my own that are larger than a wall hanging size.  For the first quilt, I opted to do a modified stitch-in-the-ditch pattern with the free motion foot.  I quickly learned that this is a very tedious way to quilt a top.  I was continually stopping and starting and afterward, I had what felt like a million threads to hand sew into the top.  Despite the time consumption of this method, I am happy with the way that the individual pieces are emphasized with the stitch-in-the-ditch pattern.

See, each piece has been stitched around.

Yes, every single ditch was sewn.

After completing the first quilt top, I was less scared of an epic mess-up on the second quilt (kind of like a second child) so I decided to be bolder with the quilting.

Free-motion in action

Free-motion in action

This time around, I just went for it and was amazed at how much faster the process was then my prior quilt.  It took me about 5 hours straight to complete the top, which really didn’t feel all that exhausting.  Once I was in zone, or sewing with the flow, or whatever it is called when something just works, I felt the quilt top almost completing itself while my hands guided fabric this way and that.   This quilt certainly came out much more textured than the other.

Swirls and more swirls.

Swirls and more swirls.

These quilts are awesome because of the fabrics.  The tops are bright and bold, subtle and strong and I love the juxtaposition between all.  I found the most perfect backing for the quilts, one of those moments where a sunbeam falls upon you like a spotlight as you hoist the fabric bolt into the air in celebration.  The backing and the binding are the same on both of the quilts continuing the theme of similar and different.

Best match ever!

Best match ever!

The twin quilts were fun in many different ways to create.  There is a satisfaction in finishing the whole project yourself and not farming out of some of the work elsewhere.  Although neither of these are ready for inspection by the county fair quilt ladies with their magnifying glasses, I am sure that they will keep two little sweet peas cozy and warm for years to come.

Leave a Reply

